Active X Controls?

Questions about how this site works or problems you are experiencing can be addressed here.

Active X Controls?

Postby petekrz » Sun Sep 28, 2008 6:35 pm

John,

I've never had this problem...but today, I can not log in to the page where I normally enter in my climbed peaks. I get a white page that says something about my security controls and mentions Active X controls. I've tried looking at my security settings and enabling active x controls....but nothing seems to work. Yesterday, I was able to log in without a problem.

I'm somewhat computer illiterate.....so I may be missing something very simple. Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated.

Pete
petekrz
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:56 pm
Location: Evergreen, CO

Postby DSunwall » Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:32 pm

yea, I can't get in either.
User avatar
DSunwall
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Castle Rock, Co

Postby John Kirk » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:29 am

Can you help me eliminate some guesswork by posting the url that is giving you the error (the address)?

I'm not able to reproduce this problem, and my site does not use active-x anywhere.

Maybe you both have a virus?
User avatar
John Kirk
LoJ Architect
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Lakewood, CO

Postby DSunwall » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:39 am

http://listsofjohn.com/Colorado/Members/login.php

I didn't have any problem from my work computer this morning, just my home computer last night.

better not be a virus, I have protection, dam it. But I'll do a scan tonight.
User avatar
DSunwall
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Castle Rock, Co

Postby mikeofferman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:51 am

I had the same problem last night at home, fine today at work...
mikeofferman
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Windsor

Postby John Kirk » Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:17 pm

Do each of you use a different version of windows or a different browser than at home?
User avatar
John Kirk
LoJ Architect
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Lakewood, CO

Postby DSunwall » Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:21 pm

XP at work and older windows at home. I've been switching between IE something at home and Chrome, as well as work. I think I was using IE when I tried last night. I got in with Chrome this morning at work.

I bet that helpls alot. :-D
User avatar
DSunwall
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Castle Rock, Co

Postby mikeofferman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:08 pm

both were xp and firefox. will give it a try again tonight at home
mikeofferman
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Windsor

Postby John Kirk » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:22 pm

DSunwall wrote:I bet that helpls alot. :-D


Actually it does - I thought maybe this was maybe a Windows Vista update causing it.

Interesting that Firefox errored as well - was there an ActiveX message for Firefox too (this would be interesting because ActiveX isn't supported by Firefox without plugins)?
User avatar
John Kirk
LoJ Architect
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Lakewood, CO

Postby petekrz » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:27 pm

John,

I use XP at work....and at home. The site worked fine this morning at work...but i'll try it again at home tonight and will forward you the error message if it happens again.

Pete
petekrz
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:56 pm
Location: Evergreen, CO

Postby mikeofferman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:27 pm

I believe it was just a blank page.
mikeofferman
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Windsor

Postby mikeofferman » Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:00 pm

at home now and can log in like normal.
mikeofferman
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Windsor

Postby John Kirk » Mon Sep 29, 2008 4:17 pm

Strange - Probably something temporarily wrong with with server that hosts my site, and probably not related to ActiveX.
User avatar
John Kirk
LoJ Architect
 
Posts: 1596
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Lakewood, CO

Postby DSunwall » Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:00 pm

mikeofferman wrote:at home now and can log in like normal.


yup, me too.
User avatar
DSunwall
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Castle Rock, Co


Return to Site FAQ's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests