Class 2 or Class 3?

Discuss anything pertaining to mountains of the U.S.

Class 2 or Class 3?

Postby drdickie » Tue May 14, 2013 8:05 pm

I climbed an unnamed peak in Taos County, NM today, 8757. Mostly it's what I would consider class 2, e.g. bushwhack with fallen trees some 2-3 foot rocks to step up on, a few steep spots. At the top, however, as the high point, I found a large rock maybe 10-12 feet high in front, a bit less in back. On the back side there was good footing and hand holds to pull myself up the first 3-4 feet and then about a 45 degree angle for the last few feet (and a nice perch to sit on and enjoy the view). I'm not experienced in classifying peaks, but I assume this last rock constitutes a class 3 move. Does that make the whole ascent class 3? Dick Oestreicher
drdickie

Re: Class 2 or Class 3?

Postby TeresaGergen » Tue May 14, 2013 9:16 pm

It might depend on where you're from.

In CO, Class 3 generally means needing your hands to move with, not just using them for balance on the rock, and a peak has the rating of the hardest moves required on the easiest route to the top.

In CA, Class 3 means pretty much anything harder than walking across talus and small boulders and less than technical, and sometimes the rating will be given in a guidebook as Class 2 if all but a tiny Class 3 section of the route is Class 2. If a peak is Class 2 all the way to the summit but the summit is difficult, you might see a rating of "Class 2s3" or even "Class 2s5" to indicate only the summit move is hard. Alternatively, I've seen guide book descriptions saying a particular ridge to the summit is Class 2, and it is, but the only approach to reach that ridge involves a section of Class 3 that is totally ignored in the description.